July 25, 2024

Magamaga – Mayuge. Rev. Charles Isabirye Bameka retained his position as the National Presiding Bishop of the Lutheran Church of Uganda (LCU) in an election conducted during the National Synod Conference held at Lutheran Theological College – Uganda, Magamaga in Mayuge district.

The 7th National Synod Conference that commenced on Wednesday ended with an election of the Church lower boards, the Church Leagues including the Youth League, the Women League and the League of the Laity.

The Delegates also had elections for the Deans that represent the seven Deaneries that make up the Lutheran Church body in Uganda. Among other Deans who were able to retain their positions include; Rev. Raymond Kaija, the Dean Midwestern Deanery who went through unopposed, Rev. Peter Maganda Representing Eastern Deanery. Rev. Bwire Nicholas for Far Eastern Deanery, Rev. Moses K. Lokong the Dean North-Eastern Deanery as the bishop takes over stewardship of the South-western Deanery.

The same elections also saw Rev. Patrick Adafara emerge as the new Dean for Northern Deanery in a highly contested race between him and the outgoing Dean, Rev. James Odoo Okello and Rev. James Akuwa who was elected as the Dean for Central Deanery.

Notable among other church leaders who retained their seats include; Mr. Fred Magezi the National Head of Laity and Rev. William Waiswa the National Youth Chairperson.